News & Media

The American Equity Underwriters Announces 2017 Safety Award Winners

Jul 24, 2018

Annual awards program recognizes the strongest safety programs in the maritime industry

The American Equity Underwriters, Inc., the leading provider of workers’ compensation insurance for waterfront employers, announced winners of the 2017 AEU Safety Awards this week in Amelia Island, Florida, at the company’s annual conference.

AEU, the program administrator for American Longshore Mutual Association, a group self-insurance fund providing USL&H coverage under the United States Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, presents the awards each year to the best-performing ALMA members nationwide. Eligibility for the awards is based on the frequency and severity of workers’ compensation accidents for the prior calendar year, as well as safety-related metrics determined by AEU’s loss control team.

“We believe a strong commitment to safety should be a core value of every employer in the maritime industry,” said Michael Lapeyrouse, president and CEO of AEU. “The Safety Award program is one way that we recognize those who make safety a priority in their facilities. They deserve to be recognized among their peers as the best in the industry.”

Included in the Safety Award criteria is the AEU Safety BenchmarkTM, a proprietary loss control measurement that reflects the major components of a company’s safety management program.

“When it comes to protecting employees from injury, it’s critical for employers to understand their exposure to risk,” said Jimmy Burgin, senior vice president and director of loss control at AEU. “The AEU Safety Benchmark enables them to see how operational management improvements can improve their safety performance over time.”

Click here to learn more about the AEU Safety Award Program.

2017 AEU Safety Award Winners:



Offshore Industry

Marine Construction

  • Terminal Equipment Services Inc.

General Safety