× Our Expertise Employers Brokers Maritime Coverage Safety Resources Longshore Insider

Report A Claim News & Media About AEU Contact Us
Member Access
The American Equity Underwriters, Inc. The American Equity Underwriters, Inc.

AEU Safety Awards

Since 2007, AEU has annually recognized the ALMA members with the most effective safety program in their particular category. The awards are based on calendar year and are presented the following year at the annual ALMA Conference. 

There are three equally-weighted factors used to determine the award winners:

Frequency of lost time cases  a ratio of the number of lost-time cases compared to the member’s payroll for the calendar year.

Severity of lost time cases – a ratio of the total incurred losses from lost-time cases compared to the member’s payroll for the calendar year. 

AEU Safety Benchmark for the calendar year – after each AEU Loss Control inspection, our loss control staff provides the member with metrics related to their management commitment, supervisor participation in the safety program, effectiveness of the safety staff and compliance with previous AEU loss control recommendations. These metrics combine to make up the member’s overall AEU Safety Benchmark. 

Once all three of these factors have been calculated and ranked against other ALMA members in a category, the winners are carefully reviewed to ensure accuracy. 

While there are many safety award programs managed by various industry or trade associations in maritime and other industries nationwide, we believe the criteria used in the AEU Safety Award program are the most effective in measuring not only accident prevention performance but also specific management-based controls.   


Congratulations to the 2017 AEU Safety Award Winners!


AustalLogo CornIslandShipyard-Logo EvansvilleMarineService-logo_black LRTClogo002 MorrisonLogoCMYK placeholder-AllStarMetals pride_power_of_purpose_logo TESILogotype2 Watco
Our Location