News & Media

The American Equity Underwriters Announces 2023 Safety Award Winners

Apr 10, 2024

Annual awards program recognizes the top safety programs in the maritime industry.

The American Equity Underwriters, Inc. (AEU), the leading provider of workers’ compensation insurance for waterfront employers, announces winners of the 2023 AEU Safety Awards. 

AEU, the program administrator for American Longshore Mutual Association (ALMA), a group self-insurance fund providing USL&H coverage under the United States Longshore and Harbor Workers' Compensation Act, presents the awards each year to the best-performing ALMA members nationwide. 

"Rewarding members who are committed to keeping their teams safe is an honor," said Jimmy Burgin, SVP, Director of Loss Control. "This award represents a lot of hard work, a sincere commitment, and steadfast dedication to safety." 

Eligibility for the awards is based on the frequency and severity of workers' compensation incidents for the prior calendar year, as well as safety-related metrics determined by AEU's loss control team. 

2023 AEU Safety Award Winners:

Anderson Diving, Inc.

Austal USA, LLC

Bay Bridge Texas, LLC

Blakeley BoatWorks

CemBulk Services

Clam Equipment Mfg Co.

Conrad Shipyard

Cooper/Ports America

Core Process Technologies

Dakota Creek Industries, Inc.

Delta Marine & Environmental Services, LLC

DHD Offshore Services, LLC

Donjon Marine Co., Inc.

Donjon Shipbuilding and Repair, LLC

Evansville Marine Service, Inc.

First Marine LLC

FRS Clipper

Gulf South Services Inc.

Hughes Bros. Inc.

Manson Construction Co.

Middle River Marine, LLC

Northwest Sandblasting & Painting

Pacific Fishermen Shipyard and Electric

Prime Time Coatings, Inc.

Rio Marine

Seven Seas International LLC

Southcoast Welding & Manufacturing

T&T Group of Companies

Titan Talent Development, LLC

TMT Clam Dredgers, LLC

Upper River Services, LLC

VLS Marine Services, LLC

Walashek Industrial & Marine, Inc.

Waterfront Services Co.

World Direct Shipping, LLC