News & Media

AEU Announces 2019 Safety Award Winners

Jun 24, 2020

The American Equity Underwriters, Inc. (AEU) announced winners of the 2019 AEU Safety Awards this week.

AEU, the program administrator for American Longshore Mutual Association (ALMA), a group self-insurance fund providing USL&H coverage under the United States Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, presents the awards each year to the best-performing ALMA members nationwide.

“We believe a strong commitment to safety should be a core value of every employer in the maritime industry,” said Michael Lapeyrouse, president and CEO of AEU. “The Safety Award program is one way that we recognize those who make safety a priority in their facilities. They deserve to be recognized among their peers as the best in the industry.”

Eligibility for the awards is based on the frequency and severity of workers’ compensation accidents for the prior calendar year, as well as safety-related metrics determined by AEU’s loss control team.


2019 AEU Safety Award Winners:

Austal USA

Ballard Marine Construction

Bella Contractors, LLC

Brewer Crane & Rigging

Burner Fire Control, Inc.

Cooper Consolidated, LLC

Core Industries Inc.

DHD Offshore Services, LLC

Donjon Shipbuilding and Repair, LLC

Enterprise Offshore Drilling

Gulf Craft, LLC

Gulfstar Industries, LLC

Halter Marine

Integrity Staffing Services, Inc.

Keppel AmFELS

Lakes Pilots Association, Inc.

Limetree Bay Terminals, LLC

Manson Construction Co.


Nielsen Beaumont Marine

Norton Lilly International, Inc.

Offshore Inland

Patriot Port Holdings LLC

Premier Scaffold, Inc.

Randive, Inc.

Rybovich Boat Company, LLC

Saildrone, Inc.

Team Services, LLC

West Gulf Marine