News & Media

The American Equity Underwriters Announces 2018 Safety Award Winners

Jul 23, 2018

Annual awards program recognizes the strongest safety programs in the maritime industry

The American Equity Underwriters, Inc. (AEU), the leading provider of workers’ compensation insurance for waterfront employers, announced winners of the 2018 AEU Safety Awards this week in Colorado Springs, Colorado, at the company’s annual conference.

AEU, the program administrator for American Longshore Mutual Association (ALMA), a group self-insurance fund providing USL&H coverage under the United States Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, presents the awards each year to the best-performing ALMA members nationwide.

“We believe a strong commitment to safety should be a core value of every employer in the maritime industry,” said Michael Lapeyrouse, president and CEO of AEU. “The Safety Award program is one way that we recognize those who make safety a priority in their facilities. They deserve to be recognized among their peers as the best in the industry.”

Eligibility for the awards is based on the frequency and severity of workers’ compensation accidents for the prior calendar year, as well as safety-related metrics determined by AEU’s loss control team.

“There are many awards in existence that attempt to recognize safe workplaces,” said Jimmy Burgin, senior vice president and director of loss control at AEU. “We feel the metrics used to determine our safety award winners are among the best for objectively ranking the safest operations in the industry.”  


2018 AEU Safety Award Winners:

Blake International Rigs, LLC

Canton Port Services, LLC

Conrad Shipyard

JB Marine Service, Inc.

Marine Group Boat Works, LLC

Manson Construction Co.

North America Stevedoring (NASCO)

SoCal Ship Services, Inc.

Southcoast Welding & Manufacturing, LLC

Wallenius Wilhelmsen Solutions