AEU Announces 2016 Safety Award Winners

July 24, 2017

Annual awards program recognizes the strongest safety programs in the maritime industry

The American Equity Underwriters, Inc., the leading provider of workers’ compensation insurance for waterfront employers, has announced winners of the 2016 AEU Safety Awards, presented earlier this month in Dana Point, California, at the company’s annual conference.

AEU, the program administrator for American Longshore Mutual Association, a group self-insurance fund providing USL&H coverage under the United States Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, presents the awards each year to the best-performing ALMA members nationwide. Eligibility for the awards is based on the frequency and severity of workers’ compensation accidents for the prior calendar year, as well as their Safety Score determined by AEU’s loss control team.

“AEU feels strongly about helping our members keep their employees safe, and rewarding and recognizing those that do so,” said Michael Lapeyrouse, president and CEO of AEU. “The Safety Awards are our way of spotlighting those in the maritime industry who are going above and beyond in that effort.”

Included in the Safety Award criteria is the AEU Safety Score, a proprietary loss control measurement that reflects the major components of a company’s safety management system.

“When it comes to protecting employees from injury, it’s critical for our members to understand their exposure to risk,” said Jimmy Burgin, senior vice president and director of loss control at AEU. “We developed the AEU Safety Score as a way to express this numerically and show members how operational management improvements can impact their score. It’s been an incredible tool for them to assess how their safety program is performing over time.”


2016 AEU Safety Award Winners:



Corn Island Shipyard Inc.

PATTI Marine Enterprises Inc.


DPH Holdco, LLC

Watco Companies LLC

Team Services LLC

Offshore Industry

Shamrock Energy Solutions

Most Improved

NSC Technologies LLC

General Maritime Safety Recognition

Terminal Equipment Services Inc.

AEU Safety Award Winners The American Equity Underwriters, Inc. recently held ceremonies for the 2016 AEU Safety Awards, which honor member companies’ safety records. Award winners are, from left, Steve Sanchez of NSC Technologies in Virginia; broker Kirk Jelinek of Wells Fargo Insurance Services with clients James Dillman and Gus Cagigas of DPH Holdco in Florida; David Zelhart of Terminal Equipment Services in California; Leonardo Alaniz of Keppel AmFELS in Texas; Yvonne and James Fletcher of Team Services in Louisiana; Rene Breaux III of Shamrock Energy Solutions in Louisiana; Kyle Wild of Arthur J. Gallagher Global Brokerage, who accepted the award on behalf of Florida-based Patti Marine Enterprises; and Jason Ford of Watco Holdings in Indiana.


Click here to learn more about the AEU Safety Awards.